Skip to content

What goes around…

November 5, 2008
tags:

I have been thinking about what to write about Halloween for at least 5 days now. As I think about what I could possibly write, the subject just gets more and more complicated, so I decided to abandon the idea of trying to figure out what to include and still keep the topic in line with the rest of the blog. `Nuff said.

Getting back to the title, I guess you have thought about it too. I am not sure though if it smacks you in the face each and every morning like it does for me. A few years ago when I was an adolescent living with my parents, I was constantly late in the morning for school. It was not a big deal for me. I had more to worry about: what to wear, how to do my hair, what pimple to mess with, what makeup to put on badly and re-do, and the list goes on. Quite clearly my worries were many. My parents sketched out a clever plan to try to get around my teen tardiness: sit in the car and honk endlessly until I stomped down the stairs and out the door. (I am 100% sure this happened and that I am not having an Alzheimer´s moment, because they did it to me on one of my recent trips back home!)

I have tried several different tactics with my own daughter: playing nice music, kissing her awake, talking softly, dressing her, carrying her to the living room, talking loudly, going to the car without her, threatening to leave her, ignoring her and the other tactic that all parents use that we are not supposed to talk about in this day and age. The conclusion is always the same regardless of the strategy: Chichi is extremely slow and we are always late for Lu´s school.

I am about as successful with my own daughter as my parents were with me. It is like they say it is.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chich permalink
    November 6, 2008 7:30 pm

    Aw mrs.B! I imagined you and Chiara (that’s the way you spell it?). I got the image of you trying to wake her up! You seem so different from at school… hehe, not in a bad way though!

    And… your daughter almost has the same nickname as me! I feel special now!

  2. heysup permalink
    November 15, 2008 3:11 pm

    lol

Leave a Reply

