Skip to content

Tough Love

November 13, 2008

It has come to that point. I decided the other night when both of my children mocked my scolding of them that there needed to be a change. (That seems to be a common theme lately.) Anyway, it is amazing how liberating it is to become a cliché and just say no.

It all started over a very petty incident that is not worth repeating. In fact, if I commit the incident to words, it will be too pathetic. The result however, is worth noting. I decided then and there that I would put my foot down with them and really show them what their limits are. I think this is yet another thing too pathetic to mention, but I will anyway. I am no longer going to wait in their room until they fall asleep. That night I waited in my room and that for them was earth-shattering. I heard all kinds of protests from them that you may find amusing:

  • If you don’t sleep with us it means you don’t like us.
  • If you really loved us you would do what we say.
  • If you don’t sleep with us I am going to tell Daddy.

This one is my all-time favorite: If you don’t sleep with us I am going to tell your mother.

And in answer to your question: Yes. It really can be that pathetic. There are days when you feel like you basically do everything that the parenting books tell you not to do.

The upside of all this is that I had ample time to reflect on my drastic decision. It took the kids an inordinate amount of time to get to sleep that night. As I was laying on my bed ignoring them or responding to their threats, I was also thinking: “I have to get these kids to behave now or I will not survive.” (I also think about getting my kids to behave before I visit my parents, because Canadian kids are very well-behaved. Wasn’t I?)

Anyway, here is my shortlist of ways that I can encourage my children to start towing the line. See if you can detect a theme:

  • Refuse to change their plates at meals just because they want to boss me around.
  • Refuse to take their Tupperware with me after lunch just because they want to boss me around.
  • Refuse to do anything for them unless they say please just because they want to boss me around.
  • Refuse to take them anywhere special because then they always want more just because they want to boss me around.
  • Refuse to answer when they call me from another room in the house just because they want to boss me around.

I think you get the picture. In case you are reading this and thinking to yourself “this woman is insane” well, you may be right. In this day and age you are not supposed to refuse to do things for your children, right? It is all supposed to be positive and loving. That is all fine and dandy until it is your name on the mat they wipe their feet on! Then there is only one alternative.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Chich permalink
    November 13, 2008 6:55 pm

    Aw… your kids are so cute! I understand them…

  2. heysup permalink
    November 15, 2008 3:08 pm

    aww mrs.b!
    they’re kids….i like them!!

  3. Lorraine permalink
    November 17, 2008 11:20 pm

    I would do the same thing. If you ask my parents they’ll probably have lots of stories similar to those to share… But still, your kids are adorable!!

Leave a Reply

