Skip to content

Simple or Stressful

December 10, 2008

The question is not whether the 2 are mutually exclusive or on a continuum, but rather how can something so simple, become so stressful. Let’s see if you’re with me on this.

  • Scenario one: I set my alarm for 6am to give me enough time to get ready and get everyone else ready. Today Lu woke up at the same time and came to lie in my bed. I told him I was going to take a shower and asked if he wanted to stay in bed or shower too. He answered that he preferred to stay in bed. Two minutes into my shower, he is pounding on the door demanding to get in the bathroom.
  • Scenario two: Chi is all excited about a new clown costume. She wanted to try it on for me last night, but couldn’t because it was already bedtime. So I put it on her this morning to take pictures of her with her brother. She was wearing the costume and Lu was in his school uniform at which point he wanted to put on a costume too to wear to school. He wailed and on until I went and got a costume for him. I took more pictures of the two of them at which point Lu wanted the costume off right then before we left for school.
  • Scenario three: We’re having breakfast today and I’m eating my bread and the kids have their cereal. Lu wants some of my bread, so I give it to him. He gets down from the table and runs away. I call after him and ask if he wants more. He says no and so I eat the rest. As I am chomping away on my last bite, he comes back and says he wants more. When I tell him he cannot have more because I ate it he goes berserk.

Are you getting the picture here? Our household has to run like a finely-oiled machine in the morning or else the simplest task can be stressful. I have lost count on how many times I repeat the same thing for Chichi every morning:

  • Get dressed
  • Feed your fish
  • Get your snack
  • Get your bag ready
  • Eat your breakfast
  • Brush your hair
  • Brush your teeth

Whatever they say about children internalizing information after hearing it 27 times is just plain wrong.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Chich permalink
    December 10, 2008 7:02 pm

    what can I say except, that ur kids are the cutest things ever!

  2. jabertra permalink*
    December 11, 2008 12:25 am

    You are right! No matter what they do or say that is way out there – they really are adorable and so are the pictures I took of them.

  3. Chich permalink
    December 11, 2008 6:40 pm

    oh, i want to see them!!

  4. Lorraine permalink
    December 12, 2008 7:02 pm

    well, one day they`ll start doing things on their own and you`ll be able to wake up at least half an hour later…. But still they`re like sooo cute and the picture of Lu in the costume you showed Chich and I today was adorable.

    • jabertra permalink*
      December 13, 2008 11:29 am

      Lorraine, I look forward to that day and also fear it. Everyone says that kids grow up so fast, that we need to savour all these crazy moments because too soon they will be gone!

Leave a Reply

