Skip to content

Seven years ago today…

February 5, 2009

Today is my daughter´s birthday.  She is seven years old.  It is really pretty hard to believe.  I was making a presentation about her life to be shown in her classroom and it is surprising how she now looks like such a girl.  She is no longer a baby or a toddler.  She is not even chubby-faced anymore.  Sometimes when I look at her she takes my breath away, other times it is because I am starting to get overheated at something she has not done or done to her brother.

I remember the day she was born very clearly.  I was 100% unprepared for the birth and that whole process.  I was just told not to go to the hospital too early.  As it turns out, we almost did not make it to the hospital.  We put the car in the car park and she was born 45 minutes later.  In fact, it was a bit of a miracle that we were able to get my doctor on the phone and over to the hospital on time.  Anyway, the big news of this memory is that when Chichi was first born and screaming a lot, the nurses put her on my chest very close to my face.  At that point I stroked her forehead and said Mommy´s here.  She stopped screaming immediately when she heard me speak.  Her reaction to my voice was one of the most powerful moments in my life and one I am never going to forget. 

I love telling my daughter the story of her birth day.  It is such a beautiful first line.

What is the first line in yours?  Apparently mine had something to do with an absent parent and a Montreal Canadians game.  I am not sure if it is fact or fiction, but it most certainly is the start of a great story.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chich and Lorraine permalink
    February 7, 2009 1:47 pm

    Aw!!!!!!!!!! We’re gonna say the same thing when our babies are born and hopefully they won’t scream even more, but will do like Chichi, and stop crying.

    • jabertra permalink*
      February 7, 2009 3:57 pm

      That would be my sincere wish for EVERY mother and child.

Leave a Reply

