Skip to content

Wowsers…

March 12, 2009

I’m not sure if I have been lazy, busy or a bit of both. One thing is for certain – my blog has been left behind. So here’s what’s been going on. I was away last week with some students and I am off again next week for a conference. (That in itself has meant that life has been busy, not to mention all the other things I do.) At the conference I am going to be presenting a case study on blogs and so I had my students create their own blogs today. It was interesting to see their enthusiasm and think about all the great things they will write in their blogs. The nice part about this blog is that it really is not about me, but my kids. They are doing well and are as funny as ever. Chichi received her first award at a school assembly the other day which really seemed to perplex her. I found out from someone else and asked her about it. She really had no idea what it was for and why she got it. As it turns out it is for helping and learning from others, which is a huge step forward for her. I was so happy for her. Chichi has also been writing notes to the family about what food is hers in the refrigerator and I am including one of those notes here:  picture1

In case you are not fluent in 7 year old language, let me explain this to you.  It is a mixture of Portuguese and English and is sort of a “Portuguized” version of an English word.  It is referring to Chiara’s school snack.  It is very creative spelling to say the least and closer to how you would say the English word in Portuguese.  My husband was rather surprised and I must say I was pretty perplexed by the note that greeted me first thing in the morning!

 

On the other hand, Lu has taken to referring to himself only in the 3rd person which is a riot. He has also started to really procrastinate on eating and now wants to be spoon-fed again, which is a pain. He doesn’t eat within a reasonable amount of time and wants everything put in the refrigerator afterwards. In fact, this morning he pulled out his bread from yesterday afternoon and ate it, exclaiming: “How delicious!” He even got me to try a bite. It was not bad, but I definitely have had better. Our dog Brownie had an eating adventure the other day too. Someone accidentally left the door open and he sneaked into the house and slept on the couch. He also polished off the rest of a panetone cake and even managed to get the clip off and open the bag. What a mess that was!

So everything is pretty much the same as always except that I am trying to be more organized. I will tell you if I am successful after I get to my conference. Let’s just say that I had to do a teeny-weeny bit of scrambling to get ready for last week’s trip. That reminds me. How do you spell diddly squat?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Chich permalink
    March 12, 2009 11:57 pm

    I always knew Chich would invent knew wonderful words, that would then turn into a whole new language, that will be spoken by every smart person in the world! You know like Guimarães Rosa? That he invented this whole new dictionary? Well Chichi will do the same.

    So, concluding, Lu will be a great scientist, and Chichi the most famous writer in history!

  2. braziliendramaqueen permalink
    March 24, 2009 1:12 am

    Hey Mrs.B,
    I am sure that if Chiara runs for president I will vote for her, even better, I will be the vice-president!!! If she invents a new language I will learn every bit of it. If she becomes a writer, herr books will be in the Best Sellers List for months, or maybe years. Concluding, Chiara is wonderful and I am sure she will sucssed in anything or anyone she chooses to be.
    Lots of Kisses to you and your family,
    Carol Lopes
    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

  3. Night Lilies permalink
    April 5, 2009 7:43 pm

    Hello Ms. B, this is Alice, I had never seen your kids, but I think they are wonderful!

  4. Night Lilies permalink
    April 5, 2009 7:44 pm

    Actually, I don’t think: I am sure they’re wonderful!! 😀 🙂

Leave a Reply

