Skip to content

E-mail subject lines that shouldn’t be…

April 6, 2009

Have you ever stopped to think about the subject lines in E-mail messages? If so, have you every thought about the ones you never want to read? If not, let me give you an example. My father sent me a message the other day with the subject line: “Head injuries”. I am the kind of person that regularly has low blood pressure, in fact throughout both of my pregnancies my blood pressure was totally normal. Well, let me tell you that all that changed when I read the subject line above. I made high blood pressure history with that subject line.

There are other more obvious subject line no-nos, such as:

  • you’re fired
  • I’m pregnant
  • I want a divorce

    and of course You won the Irish Lottery
    and my all-time favourite Nice to meet you (from the lovely man in Nigeria who will send you the milllion dollars he can no longer keep if you will just send him ALL your banking details.)

  • 2 Comments leave one →
    1. Joan bertram permalink
      April 12, 2009 6:30 pm

      That was a very cryptic heading.

    2. jabertra permalink*
      April 13, 2009 2:29 pm

      That was definitely not an inspired post title. It was not meant to offend!

    Leave a Reply

