Skip to content

The coolest thing ever…

April 7, 2009

I was joking around in my class the other day telling my students that my blog is a model for them. It was so hilarious when I said that because one of my students immediately pooh-poohed my comment. She thought I was being conceited and taking advantage of being the teacher. You have to work really hard to pull one over on them because they constantly are checking you. For example, if you plan what may be an excellent lesson, but do not have clear instructions, they will tell you. If you don’t plan an excellent lesson and don’t have clear instructions, they will tell you. Do you see where I am going with this? What I meant to say about my blog is that I always try to have my audience in mind. I know who reads it and what I can say. I try not to rant, rave and clear up petty disagreements here. Just because I don’t write about them doesn’t mean they don’t happen, they just don’t get recorded here. So I started a blog with them in class and then they themselves started their own blogs. The most amazing things have come out of these blogs. My students are writing about all kinds of different topics and reading each other’s writing. (Right now they are on a kick where they are all posting polls – but that’s another story.) They are also reading my blog and enjoying it! I think that part is fantastic. I originally started the blog for my family and to have a record for my own kids, but I love how my students are the ones who are constantly commenting and visiting the blog. This inspires me to come up with a better blog schedule and to write more for them. Isn’t that the coolest?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cinny permalink
    April 7, 2009 10:10 pm

    I check all their blogs. I love blogs. They’re great. They rule. They rock. You rock. Ok… You get what I mean hehe…

    • jabertra permalink*
      April 8, 2009 7:38 am

      I had already noticed that you look at some of their blogs. What a great thing. It must e special for them to know that you take an interest in their ideas and their writing. You should put a comment on the crazy embarassment post on Gui’s blog. No one has put anything much there and it is really well written.

  2. Cinny permalink
    April 8, 2009 11:24 am

    sure!

  3. Joan bertram permalink
    April 12, 2009 6:29 pm

    We really enjoy your blogs.It helps us connect to your life.

  4. jabertra permalink*
    April 13, 2009 2:28 pm

    Mom – you are the reason I do this!

Leave a Reply

