Skip to content

Young love or older “sibs” as role models…

April 7, 2009

I took Lu to the final futsal (indoor soccer) game at our school last Friday. We were seated next to one of my colleagues and she was intrigued with how Lu was in what appeared to be a catatonic state. She tried to get him to talk to her and he was having none of it. In fact, he barely moved until three-quarters of the way through the second period. Well, she asked him who his girlfriend was, which is a bit of an odd question to ask a 2 year-old, but she wanted to provoke him into answering. He answered: “Yaiya” To which she said: “Yaiya? Isn’t she your sister?” He shook his head yes and then she said something like: “Oh okay.” And then to me she said: “They normally say their mom.” I thought that was cute, but I was not offended that I am not my son’s girlfriend. For the longest time Chichi said she was going to marry him, so it’s good that he feels the same way about her. In fact he loves her so much that he wants to do everything she does. When I say everything I am not exaggerating that much. For example, she takes 3 bags or backpacks to school. One for snack, one for lunch and one to hold everything. He started doing the exact same thing – taking a larger backpack with 2 smaller ones inside. However, his teacher put the kaibosh on that because it was too heavy for her to carry. He has started to put his clothes out to wear the next day like she does the night before and just as she does, he changes his mind about them in the morning. He also wants to eat, drink, slurp and chew everything she does, when she does – even if he is not hungry, thirsty or in the mood for ice cream or gum. The other night he took the copying a little too far and could not hold all that food in his little stomach, if you know what I mean. I wasn’t there but I was trying to recreate the scene because my husband has an extremely weak stomach himself. I dare not try to imagine how that one was resolved!

It really is cute to see how they interact with each other when they do it nicely. She helps him to do things and she will take him to his Sunday school class and guide him here or there. He always plays with her and her friends when we are at the club and they seem to be happy to play with him too. He is a huge fan of High School Musical too and asks for it to be played in the car when we dare put on other music. (He has not committed all the words of every song on the latest CD to memory like she has, but it may come soon.) Now if we could just get her to make him eat salad and tomatoes…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cinny permalink
    April 7, 2009 10:15 pm

    High School Musical… the torture…

    Anyway, my little sister used to follow every step I took. And of course I HATED that. But now, I’m miserable because she doesn’t anymore therefore it means that I’m not an idol and that she doesn’t love me as much anymore. It’s sad, you only notice how good or how lucky you were once it’s gone. Hmpf…

    Does Chichi mind when he copied her? Or she doesn’t notice so much?

  2. Joan bertram permalink
    April 12, 2009 6:27 pm

    That was cute!

  3. jabertra permalink*
    April 13, 2009 2:27 pm

    It was very cute! Glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

