Skip to content

Long-awaited news about Easter…

April 16, 2009

I may be going out on a limb here, but I think it is time to write about Easter. The kids and I were home alone and so we went over to our friends’ house on Good Friday. The kids dyed eggs and we ate grilled fish on the barbie. As with all good gatherings in this part of the world, it started a little after noon and wound up around 9pm. The kids were waiting for the other family to go home and so was I. When one of the hosts fell asleep in his chair at the table, we all made a mass exodus!

The next day we played all morning with the 15 eggs Chichi and Lu had dyed . It was so funny because some of the eggs were a little crushed and so the dog wanted to get in on the action too! We started out with both kids hiding the eggs for me to find. After a while we all took turns hiding for the other two. The funniest thing was when Lu was hiding his eggs. He would put all 15 in a low flower pot and when we came to find them he would lead us right to them. It was hilarious. He was squealing and going on, all excited about the egg hunt. Chiara was increasingly tricky with her hiding spots and used her climbing skills to get up high enough to make it more difficult for me. That was a fun way to pass the time. I was not sure what we were going to do with all those cooked eggs. I had thought of egg salad sandwhiches or something like that, but at the end of the day, I did not have to worry about what to do with the eggs. When we got back from going out with a friend for pizza on Saturday night we found a mass of egg carnage on our varanda. The dog ate all 15 eggs in their shells. I was sure he was going to be sick as a dog the next day, but he wasn’t. I have no idea where that expression comes from.

We went back out to our friends house the next day for another Easter meal after the Easter bunny came to our house. My husband had suggested painting the floor to make a bunny trail to the kids’ Easter eggs. I talked to a couple of friends and they suggested using flour instead to make it. I did. It was nice. It worked. The kids loved it, but… our floors are very light. I had to use quite a bit of flour to get any effect. If you can manage to picture this in your mind, you can imagine the state of the place after everyone had run around in the flour with their chocolate Easter eggs. I think I may not do the bunny trail in flour again!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Joan bertram permalink
    April 16, 2009 3:38 pm

    I can image the mess.Poor Sheneillji.Did you get an Easter card?

    • jabertra permalink*
      April 17, 2009 2:15 pm

      I did get an Easter card. Thanks a lot. The kids got one too.
      About the mess after the Easter bunny trail – I got my super mini vac out and got rid of it. I asked Chiara if she wanted to do it for me and she said no!

  2. Joan bertram permalink
    April 17, 2009 3:58 pm

    That’s kids for you.

  3. jabertra permalink*
    April 17, 2009 4:34 pm

    Unfortunately that is the case!

Leave a Reply

