Skip to content

Insomnia

April 17, 2009

I woke up the other night when my son was calling me to help him go to the bathroom. Once I had taken him to do the deed, I could not get back to sleep. I tried several fool-proof methods to get back to sleep and after an hour with no success, I gave up. So I went down to watch TV. American Beauty was on and I got sucked into watching it again. It is very weird. The first time I watched it I walked away thinking – man, those people in that film are FREAKS! When I watched it this time I could see myself in some of the characters at some points. Mid-life crisis? Mommy guilt? Whatever category it falls under, it made me go up and hug my kids. I kissed them and whispered to them how much I love them. My son that day had told me not to be mad at my daughter. He told me to be nice to her. I was pretty taken aback by that and the fact that he is so able to articulate his feelings. Like I may have said before he narrates his life and is constantly talking. But that level of communication is something I never experienced with my daughter. She just does not open up like that about her feelings. Anyway, after listening to him and talking to my daughter, we are working on caring for each other more. I am trying to convince them that listening to me and doing what I want them to do is a way of showing caring. I am a slow learner with this whole motherhood thing and I think I will be working on teaching my kids how to be caring for the rest of my life. I am not sure that I am the best example for showing caring, but I want to try. I think it is something important to be taught in the home and by the child’s parents.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    April 26, 2009 7:08 pm

    Caring is such a good concept.We must be caring people all our lives.If more people cared about their fellow human being there would not be conflict in the world.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

