Skip to content

Growing up…

April 18, 2009

I remember when Chichi was a baby and I had just come back from my Mat Leave and one of my colleagues was commenting that soon she would be studying at our school. I thought that day would take such a long time to arrive. Well, it didn’t. She is now out of pre-school and my son is entering. We had to schedule the day for him to come and take the pre-test. (I hope he passes and is accepted!) Actually, there is no way he will not pass. I guess in the worst-case scenario he will be asked to wait a year. (That won’t happen though, at least I don’t think it will.) I was asked to fill out a form describing his habits and personality. That was pretty interesting because he is a talkative, social, sweet boy. He loves his sister to such an extent that he wants to do everything she does. He plays with her and her friends and seems to treat them as if they were his friends. He made friends at his own school and talks about Dudu a lot. I don’t know him, but this Dudu character must be quite something! So it will be interesting to see how Lu manages in the Montessori classroom since it is so different from what he is used to. I remember the day that Chichi did her test as if it were yesterday. She had on these really cute red capris and a matching light blue cross-over top with flowers on it that my mom had given her. (All her cute clothes were given by grandma!) She was also wearing the giraffe backpack that she had received from her grandpa and she just looked so ready to start school. I remember watching her leave and getting all teared up when she went off to do her test class. I was so full of pride and expectations for her as was her father. I am sure it will be the same for Lu, except for the fact that we as parents are so much more relaxed with the second child. I always thought I would be a relaxed parent, but I am not. I have no idea how to be more relaxed either, if you want to know the truth. It comes down to the idea of caring I think. There is always going to be something going on with them that I care about, be it something I want to follow because I am very interested or because I am very concerned. I think it is somewhat of a teeter-totter: sometimes you’re up, sometimes you’re down. It reminds me of Go Dog Go. “The blue dog is up, the red dog is down”. There is no purple dog in the middle.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    April 26, 2009 7:04 pm

    I’m sure Luca will pass the test.He will love going to the same school his sister does.
    Mom

  2. Cinny permalink
    April 27, 2009 1:43 pm

    If anything should happen, Lu will be asked to go directly to 1st grade…

Leave a Reply

