Skip to content

What is the importance of April 21st…

April 21, 2009

Well, today is a holiday here and we asked our students to look up the reason behind the holiday. Since I knew that everyone would be able to do research and tell us what the holiday signified, I decided to talk about what it means to me personally.
It is my father’s birthday. That may not seem all that significant in itself to you, but my birthday is just 2 days after my father’s birthday. I have always felt it is very special that my birthday and my father’s are so close together. I have always been close to my Dad and as I was growing up I was always told that I looked a lot like him. To me that always seemed a little weird – why did I have to look like a man? But now as an adult I can perceive that these similarities are actually very special.
I live very far away from my Mom and Dad, but I still try to be close to them. I think about them every day and they are the real guides in my life. That is something that never changes regardless of our age. For all these reasons, April 21st is a special day for me.
Happy Birthday Dad…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    April 26, 2009 5:36 pm

    This blog is very sweet to me! Mom said “Bring down a Kleenex with you and read the blog”! As I am of Irish descent, and as a result, she thinks that I am quite emotional! How true she is (on the Irish part). It is good that you have such a fond consideration of us. We find your blogs very interesting and tell great-grandma about them all of the time.

  2. Dad permalink
    April 26, 2009 7:02 pm

    That was a very special blog.I told Dad to get a kleenex before he read it.He was really touched.
    Mom

  3. Cinny permalink
    April 27, 2009 1:41 pm

    Well… the 21st the day before the exact date of my half birthday… Did this make sense?

Leave a Reply

