Skip to content

Power of music

April 30, 2009

I sing in a choir and I love it! I don’t care if it seems like a nerdy hobby to have. I absolutely adore it and wouldn’t dream of giving it up. I stopped when both my kids were very little and went back to it when they were old enough to stay at home with their Dad. We sing popular music in different languages and harmonies. But, there is nothing like singing a song in English that has a familiar type of melody and harmony. It makes me get goosebumps or tears when I am singing. One of those songs is “I shall not live in vain” based on an Emily Dickinson poem. It is absolutely gorgeous.

The musical aspect of the choir is really important to me, but so are the people. One of my favourite friends is in the choir and her hubby is the prima donna, I mean leader, of the choir. We make good music and friendships. In fact, when we go out after a concert, we sing in the restaurants. Last Sunday we had a concert and after we went out for pizza. My childhood friend was here and he was blown away by all of us sitting around the table singing. It really is a little peculiar and certainly something to see. He loved it though and hid his embarrassment well behind his camera. Have you ever tried that? I recommend it.

Music can fulfill all kinds of purposes obviously. Right now I am listening to Norah Jones and that really just fits the “feel-good” factor. It makes me sit and work in a really relaxed atmosphere. I also really can get into Michael Bublé and songs like Home. Granted this music is maybe a bit sappy or shlocky, but it takes me to a good place and I think that is what it is supposed to do.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Chich permalink
    May 3, 2009 10:55 pm

    I think you should sing for us tomorrow, during class. It would be fun!

    • jabertra permalink*
      May 5, 2009 1:00 pm

      Well, that’s not going to happen! Choirs are composed of people that never sing alone. That’s the beauty of the thing!

      • May 24, 2009 5:28 pm

        Ms. B, sing for our Computer class on Tuesday also!! I promise I sing with you!! (Ok, maybe not)!!
        Alice
        😉
        P.S.: There is a long time since you don’t comment on my blog…

      • jabertra permalink*
        May 25, 2009 1:29 pm

        Alice, you are absolutely right – I need to go on your blog and leave you a comment!

  2. braziliendramaqueen permalink
    May 4, 2009 10:59 pm

    Hi Mrs.B,
    I have to say your blog is very fun. In a few minutes I get to learn about your kids and your hobbies. I love the way you make things detailed without giving too much information. This post was my favorite one, I would also LOVE to sing in a choir but I don´t sing very well. Remember to never let go of your dream! So, if singing is your hobby, don´t let it go. Singing is to you like soccer is to me.

    Kisses,
    Carol Lopes
    :]

    • jabertra permalink*
      May 5, 2009 12:59 pm

      Carol,
      I am so glad that you like my blog. I appreciate your comments and I hope that you branch out and try different things too! I also love soccer and always played as a young girl.
      Ms. B

  3. avi1997 permalink
    May 10, 2009 9:41 pm

    Hi Mrs. B,
    You a nice blog with your theme matching your posts. I am jealous of your blog because it is better than my blog and has more visitors. I do not sing well but it is singing is to you as cricket is to me. I hope you know what cricket is.

    • jabertra permalink*
      May 11, 2009 4:13 pm

      Actually I do know what cricket is and I have actually seen a game. I confess though that I understand nothing about cricket and so it didn’t make a whole lot of sense to me!

  4. Cláudia permalink
    May 12, 2009 10:58 pm

    Jen,

    It’s very good to express our feelings about music. Like you, a love to sing in a choir, with so nice people. To sing in a restaurant can be peculiar like you said… but I hate!!!! I’m very shy for it. Is it correct? Bye

  5. May 24, 2009 5:25 pm

    Ms. B,
    I really would like to see you singing!!
    Alice

Leave a Reply

