Skip to content

Ramps…

November 23, 2009

Yesterday we spent the day with some friends and on our way back we went over a speed bump. I was not totally ready when we went over it. As a result I went over it rather abruptly. Lu asked me what had happened. I explained that we had just gone over a speed bump. He asked what a speed bump was. Chichi and I tried to explain to him what a speed bump was exactly. We told him that it was like a ramp in the road that made cars go slower. He wanted to know what else it made go slower. We answered that trucks and motorcycles also went slower over speed bumps. Then he wanted to know what a ramp was. Again, we said it was something that made cars and so on, go slower. Then he said, what else is it? I said it was something that made things go up. He said again, what else is it? I told him the same thing again, and again he asked the same question. I tried to think of other ways to define ramp, but again, he was not satisfied. I thought of a lock and that it might be a device that helped another item go from one level to another. He was not satisfied by my answer and I simply could not think of anything else, so I resorted to diversion tactics to get him to stop talking about it.

The most powerful aspect of this relentless questioning is that it starts to fool you into thinking that maybe you don’t have all the answers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

