Skip to content

Blessings

December 3, 2009

We have been talking a lot about blessings lately. It was Thanksgiving here last week and we asked our students to reflect upon their blessings. I guess it is just human nature not to count yours until you are one short. I find it funny that we always think we have problems and tend to focus on them, rather than on the positive points in our lives. I remember times when I had a totally different set of priorities and worries. It is almost like that was a different life. Still, I somehow managed to find things to stew about. Sheesh! Sometimes I wish I had an internal “suck it up” button. I know I really need it sometimes. A smaller but equally useful button would read “you are not a victim AKA don’t take yourself so seriously AKA stop being self-absorbed”.

I look to my children in order to get back on track and in touch with reality. They are good about that because their priorities are totally different from mine and from each other’s. Lu wants me to know that he likes girls’ movies and his sister likes boys’ movies. Chichi wants me to sit down and make the ornaments she needs for the Christmas pageant. Still, they know where those buttons I was talking about are located! Sometimes they push them!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. M&D permalink
    December 3, 2009 4:13 pm

    Everyone has their own buttons to push.We also do not count our blessings often enough.

    • jabertra permalink*
      December 3, 2009 4:16 pm

      Love you M&D – love it when you write on my blog!

Leave a Reply

