Skip to content

Functional Art

March 29, 2010

When I was growing up, I never thought I was very good at art. I would always look at what my friends and colleagues were able to do and think “how do they do that?” I really love art, I love going to museums and I even think about spending the day going into the city to see art exhibitions. At the moment there is an Andy Warhol exhibit as well as a Marc Chagall exhibit at two different museums in the city. I asked one of my friends if she wanted to go with me to visit them and she thought I was crazy. My husband said almost the same thing, but his reservations had more to do with getting stuck in traffic or a rain storm. So, in other words, I did not go to either exhibit. I did however go to the art exhibition at school. My students and my daughter presented their art work. I absolutely love seeing my daughter’s work. It is really well done and she seems to be able to really understand what the teacher wants and can execute it easily. This presentation was a 3-D sculpture of a face with the student’s favourite colours. She was so proud to show us and even explained her work to other parents that were present. Her face not only was a sculpture, but also a “piggy bank” – so her art was also functional.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. John Bertram permalink
    April 8, 2010 2:41 pm

    I like chiara’s sculture. It is really good. I am thinking of including it in next year’s calendar. Perhaps you can go to an art gallery in Ireland.

  2. Jeff permalink
    May 13, 2010 10:54 am

    More blogs please!

Leave a Reply

