Skip to content

New Year – New Outlook

January 16, 2012

I did not think too much about making New Year’s Resolutions this year, but they just kind of came about naturally. I decided that rather than just “unpack” I would organize things beforehand. So far, I have followed what most people consider to be the first steps towards organization: attack one thing at a time. I am now happy to say that I have organized our desk area. I was so unhappy looking at it, but I didn’t have the energy to get up and do something about it. I now look over from the bed and see a stream-lined look with just the computer, printer and calendar. I also tackled the bedside table and cleaned out all the drawers. It really IS amazing how many books can accumulate in one bedroom! As I was tackling my bedside tables, I decided to try a trick my mom told me about. I had a nasty water stain on the table. Mom said just put down a tea towel and iron over it. I did it and it worked like a charm! It is so easy and so effective; I started ironing my dining room chairs too! They obviously have a more complicated problem. Speaking of complicated problems, I have been looking at a little ridge of dirt on the refrigerator door for about a year and yesterday I got out a toothbrush to clean that ridge. Oh scrub and scour – how great you are! Okay to keep it real and not seem like I need to be locked up, let me tell you that I still have not unpacked as yet. Yup, the kids did, but I still have everything in my suitcase and it is still locked up the way it was when I arrived 05 days ago. I just can’t seem to bring myself to tackle the mess that is my closet just yet. I wonder when I will be able to stop living out of my suitcase?

Well, here’s a reason – the kids can’t put their Christmas lego together because I haven’t unpacked the instructions yet – DOH!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

